WARNING: This is an Archive - Try the New TestMy.net
Home
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

 
  spcr
» Home » Best Low Resource Antivirus/Firewall
    
  Home    Help    Search    Login    Register  
 
News : Have an idea that will make testmy.net better?  Click here to post it!  We love to hear feedback, user feedback like yours have helped build testmy.net over the years.. true story wink July 28, 2014, 09:23:29 AM
oldtestmy.net forums  |  Main Forum  |  PC Security  |  Antivirus & Firewalls  |  Topic: Best Low Resource Antivirus/Firewall Advanced search
  0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages 1 2 3 4  All Go Down
Author
Topic: Best Low Resource Antivirus/Firewall  (Read 16879 times)
porsche6714
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 83


View Profile
« on: March 31, 2007, 09:20:45 AM »

Hello

I recently purchased a new Dell Laptop and need to install some antivirus software on it.  Its got plenty of power but Vista is a massive resource hog so i would like to keep the amount of resources my antivirus/Firewall uses to a minimum.  The Specs of the compouter are:

Dell E1505
2.0GHz Core 2 Duo
2GB of Memory
256MB Geforce 7300 Video card
Vista Home Premium

I've allready tried AVG Free and it dosent work that great.  When i tested it out it used a lot of memory on startup and struggles to detect and delete viruses and spyware.

I am willing to pay for the program too so i'm open to any siggestions.

Thanks
Logged
 
DJ VaGGo
Trance <~> Energy
Global Moderator
TMN Veteran
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1998


Earthlink 10000/512


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2007, 09:48:53 AM »

Kaspersky IS

http://usa.kaspersky.com/products/internet-security.php

Hardly takes up any resources, and has the highest detection rate
« Last Edit: March 31, 2007, 09:53:25 AM by DjVaGGo » Logged

 
Buntz
TMN Friend
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 317


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2007, 09:51:28 AM »

Try Avast for your anti-virus they have a free version and I think Trend makes a firewall for Vista,I am not sure if it is free. I been using Comodo free firewall on XP ,It works great,but I do not know if it works with Vista.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2007, 09:58:50 AM by Buntz » Logged

AMD X2 4400+[2802MHz]  2x Nvidia 7800GT  2x 74GB 10000RPM HD  2GB OCZ Ram
 
Coknuck
Global Moderator
TMN Sr. Veteran
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3381


Insightbb. KY 10Mbps/1Mbps


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2007, 10:35:25 AM »

I found this Vista compliant Firewall at Majorgeeks.com you might want to check it out.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download5578.html
Logged

Read this first Before posting speed problems  http://testmy.net/topic-2097 & http://testmy.net/forum/t-3924

Growing old is manditory, Growing up is optional
 
disturbed
News Anchor
TMN Veteran
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2067


I am and always will be disturbed.


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2007, 11:33:03 AM »

i know its off topic, but i honestly do not find vista to be a resource hog - my experience is that its pretty much like windows xp
Logged

Are you down with the sickness !?

[ http://hackaday.com ]
 
Diablo321
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 77



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2007, 12:06:42 PM »

i know its off topic, but i honestly do not find vista to be a resource hog - my experience is that its pretty much like windows xp

Same here! Vista actually runs better on my machine than xp did...

Back on topic...

Use Avast! Its free and runs perfectly on vista!
Logged

 
porsche6714
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 83


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2007, 12:00:13 PM »

Vista sucks up about 3X more ram than my XP did.  However I did have my old vista computer tweaked to the max so i might have been a little more responsive than most peoples.  I also have Vista tweaked as much as possible too and its not slow by any means but compared to XP its definitly a downgrade in terms of overall speed and quickness

Ok, It seems some people are liking Avast.  How is that in terms of memory usage?  Firewall i'm not too concerned about between the stuff already implemented into vista and my router firewall.
Logged
 
Diablo321
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 77



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2007, 01:05:46 PM »

Ok, It seems some people are liking Avast.  How is that in terms of memory usage?  Firewall i'm not too concerned about between the stuff already implemented into vista and my router firewall.



Using a total of 12,384KB of RAM. I'd say using 12 megs of ram is pretty low...
Logged

 
disturbed
News Anchor
TMN Veteran
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2067


I am and always will be disturbed.


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2007, 01:32:54 PM »

id 2nd avast.....i use it and its great, such a low resource user and it does an awesome job of keeping my system safe
Logged

Are you down with the sickness !?

[ http://hackaday.com ]
 
Xx Mazza xX
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 185


GCI - 256/3400


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2007, 08:19:19 PM »

avast+Comodo  Smile
Logged

 
porsche6714
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 83


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2007, 01:01:47 PM »

I installed avast on one of my older laptops just to test it out and I seems OK from what i've seen.  Its a little slow at start up but after that it better.  I also noticed that I had pc-cillin running on one of myy other computers.  I took a look in the task manager and saw that it only used around 10MB after the initial startup.  How is pc-cillin when compared to avast?  When i bought pc-cillin i can install it on up to 3 computers and i've olny used it on 2 so both softwares would technically cost me nothing to install.  What do you reccomend?
Logged
 
Le_Murphant
TMN Friend
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 264



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2007, 02:38:13 PM »

Nod32 uses a little under 20 MB on my xp machine, and I'm too lazy to go check on my Vista machine smiley
The cpu usage is pretty low (1 min 30 seconds out of 20 hours) but there hasent been much going on my cpu other than downloading files, so its not much of an indicator. When I get on my vista machine, I'l post how much it uses.
Logged
 
xch1ckenzx
New Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2007, 03:40:39 AM »

NOD32 is actually extremly low on ram and is the second best after kas but im not sure its vista compatible. Comodo firewall
Logged
 
Deltamusic
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 84


That's Not a Bug.. It's a Feature


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2007, 09:05:57 PM »

I had Nod32 on my old machine and I liked it. I have been running CA Security Suite on my notebook and have been pleased so far.. It only uses 40MB of on hard disk, unlike some others that require from 70 to 200MB. I did have a problem with the upgrade.. It thought I had upgraded to Vista and I still have XP on here. Was an easy fix. Now I really like their PestPatrol as it has found several things all my others have missed. I will never use Nortons or McAfee as they are a bigger headache than any virus or bug. I have a utility I use all the time..called active ports and Nortons calls it a Trojan or malware. I have several new copies of eTrust as every time I get a new drive or router Tiger throws one in with the rebate. I don;t run Vista cause my Steamcast server does not like all the media tracking built into Vista.
Logged

Now Playing on Deltamusic Live 
 
TheHalf™
TMN Friend
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 551


Im a douche bag!!


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2007, 11:35:40 PM »

Kaspersky IS

http://usa.kaspersky.com/products/internet-security.php

Hardly takes up any resources, and has the highest detection rate

I did have Vista RC1 & RC2 but it expired (wasn't ready to reinvest in my current PC) anyhoo I agree with DjVaGGo with Kaspersky antivirus. I use it with WinXP MCE and the program is not a resource hog, now how that will work with any version of Vista...I am not sure; so if you seem interested in Kaspersky be sure to use v 6.0.2.621 or latre (I do)

TheHalf™
Logged
 
Print  Pages 1 2 3 4  All Go Up
oldtestmy.net forums  |  Main Forum  |  PC Security  |  Antivirus & Firewalls  |  Topic: Best Low Resource Antivirus/Firewall « previous next »
Jump to:  

    


 

 

 

© 2006 testmy.net - Contact - Legal - This is an old version: Try Speed Test Version 13